Denise DeNicolo, LPC-S, LCDC, NCC
Texas Drug Offender Education Program
State License #1595
Section 521.371-521.377, Texas Transportation Code (formerly Article 6687B, Section 24B, Texas Civil Statutes) states that persons convicted of misdemeanor or felony drug offenses will automatically have their licenses suspended for a period of six months. In order to have their license reinstated, they must attend and successfully complete an educational program on the dangers of drug abuse approved by Texas Department of State Health Services. Failure to complete the program will result in the license being revoked indefintely until the educational program is completed. The standardized program is fifteen (15) hours in length and designed to increase the knowledge of drug offenders by educating them on the dangers of drug abuse and associated illegal activities, to identify their own individual drug-use patterns, and to assist them in developing a personal action plan which will reduce the probability of suffering the consequences of future drug use and illegal behavior. Specific course topics include: history of drug use and abuse, drug and DWI laws, dynamics of drug use, drugs of abuse, how drugs work, cost of use and abuse, health issues, HIV, interpersonal relationships, de-glamorization of drugs, values and behaviors, past and desired behaviors, getting control of your life, resource options, and personal action planning.
15-hour course: 5 days/3 hours a day (earn your certificate in 5 days)
Texas DWI / DUI Education Program (First Offense)
State License #1604
Article 42.12, Section 13(h), Code of Criminal Procedure requires persons convicted of first offense DWI and receiving probation, to attend and successfully complete an educational program certified by the Texas Department of State Health Services. Failure to complete the program within 180 days (unless an extension was granted) from the date probation was granted will result in the offender's license being revoked. The license cannot be reinstated until the educational program is completed. The standardized program is twelve (12) hours in length and designed to help DWI offenders increase their knowledge about alcohol and drugs as these substances relate to driving skills, to identify their own individual drinking/drug use and driving patterns, and to assist them in developing plans which will reduce the probability of future DWI behavior. Specific course topics include: alcohol/drug and traffic safety problems, Texas laws relating to DWI, effects of alcohol/drugs, alcohol/drugs and driving task abilities, chemical dependency and symptoms, sources of assistance, costs of DWI, and decision-making.
12-hour course: 3 days/4 hours a day (earn your certificate in 3 days)
Substance Use Evaluations
Comal Alcohol & Drug Services offers the Substance Abuse Life Circumstance Evaluation (SALCE). These instruments are recommended by most criminal justice programs. The SALCE report presents assessment information that can be used in a broad range of decision-making situations. It also includes specific identifiers for making quick decisions for referral to treatment or education, as well as providing detailed information useful in conducting personal interviews.
Call: (210) 865-6445 for an appointment
Your results will be sent to your court liaison, probation officer, employer, etc. within 24 hours.
DWI / DUI Education Program
Drug Offender Education Program
Substance Abuse Evaluations
- Court Order
- Education Only
- Out of State Cases
- Employment (failed drug test)
- Reinstatement of Driver's License
- Children Protective Services (CPS) Cases
Program Fees are non-refundable. Classes are offered in Comal County. Persons not on supervision/probation may attend any course. Failure to attend any or all sessions may be a violation of a Court Order.
Comal Alcohol & Drug Education
Certified by the Texas Department of Health Services